National Alliance Board of Governors

Executive Committee


Neil Goldfarb, President & CEO
Greater Philadelphia Business Coalition on Health

Vice Chair

Jessica Brooks, Executive Director
Pittsburgh Business Group on Health


Chris Skisak, Executive Director
Houston Business Coalition on Health

Cristie Travis, CEO
Memphis Business Group on Health


Robert Smith, Executive Director
Colorado Business Group on Health


Randa Deaton, Co-Executive Director
Kentuckiana Health Collaborative


Gaye Fortner, President & CEO
HealthCare 21 Business Coalition

Chris Goff, CEO and General Counsel
Employers Health

Diane Hess, Executive Director
Central Penn Business Group on Health

Anne Ladd, CEO
Wyoming Business Coalition on Health


Cheryl Larson, President 
Midwest Business Group on Health

Chris Syverson, CEO
Nevada Business Group on Health

External Board Members

Garry Carneal
Founder, Schooner Strategies and Senior Policy Advisor, Kennedy Forum

Garry has researched, written and published extensively on quality, medical management, information technology, and regulatory trends. He has established a track record helping trade associations, accreditation organizations, and other health-related businesses scale-up nationally. He also serves on several non-profit boards and committees. During his career, Carneal has brought to market over 20 accreditation programs that have been recognized by 45 states and three federal agencies. In 2007, Carneal founded Schooner Strategies, a consulting firm and incubator that identifies and implements business development solutions, leverages technology applications, engages in research and education initiatives, and manages health-related organizations. Garry previously served as the President & CEO, URAC and Vice President of Legal and State Affairs, American Association of Health Plans (now AHIP). Among a number of volunteer efforts, Carneal is a board member of the American Board of Quality Assurance and Utilization Review Physicians (ABQAURP) and Preventing Colorectal Cancer. He also serves on several committees for the Case Management Society of America (CMSA).

Kulleni Gebreyes, MD, MBA
Principal, Health Industries Advisory Practice, PricewaterhouseCoopers

Kulleni is a physician consultant in PwC's Health Industries Advisory (HIA) practice. She specializes in strategic and care delivery transformation of health care organizations as they drive towards value based care and population health management. A physician leader with more than 17 years of experience across the commercial and public sector. Dr. Gebreyes is a board certified emergency medicine physician who has expertise in physician engagement and education, adoption and implementation of health information technology, quality and performance improvement, and compliance and assurance. Dr. Gebreyes has led numerous public-private sector collaborations across payer and provider enterprises in preparation for health care industry convergence. She leads initiatives which are designed to improve quality while reducing cost of care. She has deep insight into the functional requirements of complex systems operated by providers and payers.


Paul Fronstin
Director, Health Research & Education Program, Employee Benefit Research Institute

Paul Fronstin is Director of the Health Research and Education Program at the Employee Benefit Research Institute (EBRI), a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization committed to original public policy research and education on economic security and employee benefits. He also oversees the Center for Research on Health Benefits Innovation. He has been with EBRI since 1993. Dr. Fronstin's research interests include trends in employment-based health benefits, private health insurance exchanges, workplace wellness programs, consumer-driven health benefits, retiree health benefits, employee benefits and taxation, and public opinion about health benefits and health care. He currently serves on the board of trustees for Emeriti Retirement Health Solutions and for the National Alliance of Healthcare Purchaser Coalitions. He also serves on the National Advisory Board for the University of Michigan Center for Value-Based Insurance Design. He is the associate editor of Benefits Quarterly and is also a TIAA-CREF Institute Fellow. From 2015-2018, he served on the Maryland Patient Safety Center board of directors. Dr. Fronstin served on the Maryland Health Care Commission from 2012-2016. In 2010, he served on the Institute of Medicine (IOM) Committee on Determination of Essential Health Benefits.


Leah Binder
President & CEO, The Leapfrog Group

Leah Binder is President & CEO of The Leapfrog Group, representing employers and other purchasers of health care calling for improved safety and quality in hospitals. She is a regular contributor to, the Huffington Post, and the Wall Street Journal expert forum. She was named on Becker’s list of the 50 most powerful people in healthcare in 2014, and consistently cited by Modern Healthcare among the 100 most influential people and top 25 women in healthcare. Under her leadership, The Leapfrog Group launched the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade, which assigns letter grades assessing the safety of general hospitals across the country. She has also fostered groundbreaking innovations in the annual Leapfrog Hospital Survey, including partnerships to eliminate early elective deliveries, central line-associated bloodstream infections and safe use of health technology. She has served on numerous national boards and councils, including the Institute of Medicine Collaboration on Patient Engagement, the Health Care Financial Management Association Leadership Advisory Committee, PCORI Health Systems Advisory Panel, AARP’s Champions for Nursing Strategic Advisory Council, the National Priorities Partnership Board. Prior to her position at The Leapfrog Group, Ms. Binder spent eight years as vice president at Franklin Community Health Network, an award-winning rural hospital network in Farmington, Maine. She previously worked as a senior policy advisor for the Office of Mayor Rudolph Giuliani in New York City and started her career at the National League for Nursing, where she handled policy and communications for more than 6 years.